So you see that with this George Lilly and the Half-Fast Allstarz we still get to hear some nice blues that we did not know existed at first. This one from Hope Sound FL. descending bluesman brings blues with a lot of rhythms and New Orleans grooves in them. This’ Thinkin ‘About You Baby’ counts 11 songs with 3 originals and 8 covers that George Lilly is very dear to his heart.

They open with the footstompin ” Thinkin ‘About You Baby’ and is a floorfiller of this George Lilly. Delicious blues accompanied by a horn section is always a sweet cake for me. George ‘Nighthawk’ Lilly is a blues musician and sound technician with more than 50 years of experience in the profession.

After the successful opener there is then ‘All Your Lovin’ by Otis Rush, a bluesje that every blues fanat already somewhere in one or other version in his record case, here in a very soulful performance. His next ‘Just Because’ is based on a well-known groove. ‘Crazy About You Baby’ by Little Walter gets a whole transformation on this album and we are way down in New Orleans. To stay completely in the NOLA sphere we still get James Booker’s’ So Swell When You’re Well ‘… put on your dancin’ shoes.

The shuffle ‘Snatch It Back … and hold it’ was written by Buddy Guy and Junior Wells and gets a bit more at the hands of the saxes. ‘Love, Love, Love’ is a rumba rn ‘b bluesje written by George Lilly, a song through which the’ mardi gras’ and the piano grooves of Professor Longhair come to life. From jazz and blues musician Mose Allison, these ‘Allstarz’ will bring a lot of rock ‘n roll allure to their’ Parchman Farm ‘.

After Little Johnny Taylor’s soulful ‘ Somewhere Down the Line ‘ this more an enjoyable album ends with a ‘live’ version of Rufus Thomas his million seller ‘Walking The Dog’ ….


01 Thinkin ‘About You Baby
02 Your Love (I Miss Lovin’)
03 Just Because
04 Crazy About You Baby
05 Catfish Blues
06 So Swell When You’re Well
07 Snatch It Back
08 Love, Love, Love
09 Parchman Farm
10 Somewhere Down the Line
11 Walking the Dog (Live)


George ‘Nighthawk’ Lilly: guitar, vocals
Jeff ‘The Gennerlalissimo’ Renza: drums
George ‘Bam Bam’ Lilly: drums on # 4
Phil ‘Big daddy’ McArthur: bass
Professor Bob Taylor: piano
Wailin ‘John Michalak: saxes
Big Randy Emerick : baritone sax
Greg ‘Soulman’ Jackson: backing vox
Gregorey ‘Popeye’ Alexander: backing vox

  • Rootsville